Google Drive Backup and Sync is a popular solution for the safe storage of a high volume of data in the cloud. While we store our data on the PC, it is susceptible to hacking and data corruption. So, frequently backing up our data to cloud storage is a wise decision. Google’s own backup and sync is a great tool for creating a substitute repository of all our data. By default, when you install the backup and sync tool its folder is created in the C: drive of your computer. You can change the Google Drive Backup and Sync Folder Location to other drives than the default one.
Also Read: How to Use Google Drive on Fire TV Stick
In this guide, I will show you how to change the Google Drive Backup and Sync default folder to something else. The steps to carry this out is pretty simple. First, You have to disconnect your account from the service. Then again you have to re-sync your PC data. At this point, you can reset the folder where you want to keep the backup and sync folder. Alternatively, you can manually move the Google backup and sync folder from its default folder. I have explained both the methods in this guide. Let’s check those out now.
Also Read
Change Google Drive Backup and Sync Folder Location
Here are the steps for the first method.
Disconnect Your Account and Re-Sync Your Data
- On your PC desktop move the cursor to the system tray
- There you should see a cloud icon with an arrow which is the one for Google Drive Backup and Sync
- Click on this cloud icon

- Select the option Preferences
- From the left-hand panel click on Settings

- Click on Disconnect Account
At this point, your Google drive will get disconnected from your PC. rest assured that your files won’t be lost or deleted. They will remain alright.
- Click on Drive Backup and Sync icon
- For reconnecting you have to sign-in to your Gmail account
- After that, you will come across the Advanced Setup tab. Click on that
- There will be an option Change. Click on it change the default Google Drive backup and sync folder location
- Now, the files will re-sync to the new folder location.
