People who are not tech-savvy often fall prey to malware that can come masquerading as the pop-up for installing Adobe Flash Player update. If you still don’t know, Adobe has now globally discontinued support for Flash Player. This means there is no requirement of installing any update to this non-existent program. However, malware designers take advantage of technologically naive people. They trick people into clicking pop-ups claiming to bring an update for Adobe Flash.
As soon as the person installs the ‘update’ the malware finds its way into the vulnerable computer. Then you can imagine the rest of the modus operandi. Data theft, hacking, ransomware, and anything unethical can take place. I will guide you in this article on how to recognize such a bogus update pop-up. This will help you to stay clear of malware and also you can spread the knowledge with your social circle.
What to Do When You See An Update to Adobe Flash Player is Available Pop-up
Normally, the malware installation follows the same route as any other legit application. You have to download an installer application and grant it permission to install the components of the application on your PC.
Signs of A Malware Pop-Up Hiding As Flash Player Update
- You will see these unethical pop-ups on adult websites, torrent sites, and sites that do not have a secure connection(no padlock sign in the URL bar).
- If you are on a secure website that follows proper security protocol you won’t see such pop-ups asking you to install or click on them.
- The installer pop-up will have no logo of Adobe
- The malware developers never mention the correct name of the company they are trying to pose for cheating [that will later lead to a lawsuit if they get caught in the act]
- The pop-up may try to create a sense of urgency by showing messages such as “Your computer will stop playing YouTube videos. Install Adobe Flash player update now“.
My suggestion is whenever you see such pop-ups, never panic or get anxious. Make sure your hands are away from the trackpad/mouse. Do not click anything. Carefully read the pop-up and see whether there are typos in the spellings or if there is an actual logo of the company. Not just for Adobe, the malware can take the form of any popular company out there.