Facebook Messenger is a popular application that allows users to stay connected with friends and family. It is available on Android and iPhone devices, and users can easily download and access it. The app allows users to decide who can send them a message or contact them. One such great feature is “Restrict,” which limits unwanted interaction. But what if someone stopped responding to your message on Facebook Messenger? Perhaps they might have blocked or restricted you.
If you suddenly realize that you can’t get any notification or message from a friend or family member on Facebook, it’s possible that they have blocked or restricted you. But how do you know if someone has restricted you on Facebook Messenger? Don’t worry! We are here to help. Keep reading.
What is Restrict Feature on Facebook Messenger?
Meta-built technologies help people connect with multiple users and communities and do multiple workarounds to improve their privacy and security on their social media platforms. However, they have released a feature known as “Restrict” on Facebook Messenger and using this feature, users can easily access and manage their interactions with others.
Now users can easily access the restriction feature on their Facebook Messenger app on their iPhone and Android devices without any difficulties. If you have restricted anyone on your family or friends on your Facebook Messenger, they won’t get any notifications about your message and calls. That’s why they leave you alone without blocking you on their Facebook Messenger.
Moreover, Facebook won’t notify you when someone restricts you on Messenger. Also, restrictions are not limited, and users can easily see their Facebook accounts and other activities.
How to Identify if Someone Restricted You on Facebook Messenger?
There are some ways where you can easily know if someone restricted you on Facebook Messenger. If you have been restricted from anyone on Facebook Messenger, it’s the easiest way to know if someone restricted you on Facebook Messenger.
1. No Message Notification
If you want to know what happens when anyone restricts you on Facebook Messenger, you will first notice that no message notification will appear on the screen. However, the person who has restricted you will not receive any notifications about your new messages.
Additionally, your conversation is moved to their Message Request section. So, even if they see your message, it won’t be marked as read. All in all, if you are not receiving any replies or responses from the person despite them being active on the app, it is an indication that you have been restricted.
2. No Call Notification
Another thing that happens when someone restricts you on Facebook Messenger is they will not receive your call notifications. Just like the message restrictions, your calls will also be restricted, and the user won’t be notified upon your call. So, if the other person isn’t answering your calls even upon multiple attempts, that’s an indication.
3. Active Status Is Missing
If you are still skeptical about the fact that you have been restricted or not, here’s another clue. Upon restricting someone, the user’s activity status will be hidden.
It is important to note that the activity status can also be hidden manually. However, you will still be on the friend list, but you will no longer see the activity status of the users you have been restricted to.
4. You Can’t See Read Receipts
You cannot see read receipts on Facebook Messenger when someone has restricted you on Messenger. To diagnose the issue in depth, you may easily check whether you see the empty or filled circle with a checkmark next to your message. It indicates your message has been sent but not delivered to the user. The filled circle with a checkmark indicates the delivery confirmation on Facebook Messenger.
Furthermore, you can also try to access the profile of the person who has restricted you, and then you’re restricted from communicating with them.
Facebook’s restricting feature is a lifesaver when you don’t want to block someone but still want to stay away from them on the platform. However, if you are on the other side of the coin, it can be extremely frustrating when you are unsure whether or not you have been restricted. Hopefully, this guide has helped you determine whether someone has restricted you on Facebook. If you have any other ways to identify this, share them in the comments section.