How To Stop Auto-Saving The Wi-Fi Networks On Mac

Does your Mac automatically connect to a WiFi network you don’t want to connect? By default, Mac is programmed to remember the WiFi network it once connects to and then uses it for future connection. That way, the Mac saves time for you by automatically connecting to a WiFi network that it recognizes from the past. But sometimes it can be an issue, especially when you want your Mac to connect to a particular WiFi connection.

Maybe the WiFi connection that automatically connects to belongs to a neighbor, or worse, to a public network. We all know how unsafe public networks can be and so we connect to your networks using our phones sometimes in public places. But if your Mac remembers the public WiFi network because maybe you connected to it in the past, that can be a problem. So how do you make your Mac forget previously connected WiFi network? Or how do you disable the feature of autosaving once connected networks on Mac? Let’s look into it in this article.

Macbook User

How to Stop Auto-Saving of WiFi Networks in Mac?

Removing Saved WiFi Network:

You can remove the saved networks directly from your Mac by getting into the saved networks list. It is relatively very much more comfortable and better than changing a default setting on the Mac. So to forget saved networks,

  • Open system preferences by clicking the Apple icon in the top left corner of your screen in the menu bar.
  • Now click on Network in the next menu and then click on the WiFi option on the left side of the screen.
  • Now click on the Advanced button on the right side, and this will bring the list of WiFi networks saved on your Mac.
  • Choose the network you want your Mac to forget by clicking on that connection and then clicking on the Minus(-) button below it.

This is the more accessible and better way to remove the saved WiFi network from your Mac. However, if you want altogether to disable the Auto-save feature of WiFi on your Mac, then the process will be a bit more complicated.

Disable Saving of WiFi Networks:

This is the permanent solution to the autosave feature.

Advertisements
  • Open system preferences by clicking the Apple icon in the top left corner of your screen in the menu bar.
  • Now click on Network in the next menu and then click on the WiFi option on the left side of the screen.
  • Now click on the Advanced button on the right side, and this will bring the list of WiFi networks saved on your Mac.
  • You will see a setting called ‘Remember networks this computer has joined’. Uncheck the box next to it.

And that’s it. Your Mac will no longer remember or automatically connect to a WiFi connection.

This feature was introduced in Mac because it automatically searches for the best connection in its range and automatically connects to it, making things easier for the user. It just looks for the fastest internet connection it can find and automatically connects to it. Now it can be helpful to a lot of users, but some users may find it an issue. And if you are one of those users, then you now know the way to disable it. If you have queries on this guide, then comment down below. Also, be sure to check out our other articles on iPhone tips and tricks, Android tips and tricks, PC tips and tricks, and much more for more useful information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.