The Facebook-owned WhatsApp application which is probably one of the most used smartphone messaging applications is soon to roll out a new feature for the device. No, it’s not the already available Dark Mode which arrived on the app after a long gap and other messaging apps like Telegram have been flaunting the dark mode from the time it was not even thought for the WhatsApp application. The new feature that will be added with a feature update is the Disappearing Messages. With the help of this feature, users will be able to send a disappearing message either in groups or in private. The message will self destruct after a set period of time.
As per the source, users will be able to set disappearing messages after an hour, a day, a week, a month, or a year. Going by the report by WABetaInfo,
WhatsApp has recently submitted a new update through the Google Play Beta Program, bringing the version up to 2.20.83. The 2.20.84 update is available publicly.
- The Delete Messages feature is not available yet.
- This feature is under development: it means that WhatsApp is working on this feature and there isn’t any release date available.
- If you don’t see the update on the Play Store, please be patient until Google will roll out for you (probably according to WhatsApp preferences).
Moreover, WhatsApp is currently testing this feature out and if we go by the time it took to bring forth the Dark Mode for the app, we will have to wait a considerable amount of time for this feature to see the light of the day. However, those who have already enrolled in the beta testing program for WhatsApp can test this feature out. But, if you have not enrolled for the beta testing, here is the WhatsApp version that supposedly has the Deleted Messages feature.
In order to use this feature, head over to any group or private chat and tap on the profile to open up the other options. You will see a new option called the “Deleted Messages” which you need to turn ON. Once this feature is enabled, all of your messages will have a clock icon on the messages besides the time indicating that the message will disappear on your set time frame.