Adding friends on Snapchat doesn’t work as it does on Facebook, where you have to send a friend request, which has to be accepted. When you add a user on Snapchat, they instantly show up on your “My Friends” list, and that happens whether or not they have added you back. One similarity both platforms have, however, is that removing a friend, or “unfriending” them as it is on Facebook, is done instantly; the user you’re removing/deleting/unfriending doesn’t have to approve the action (that doesn’t even make logical sense!).
In fact, the user on the other end does not even know that you have removed them, and while this works best as most people don’t want others to know when they’ve been removed, there are times when it’s quite important, or you can’t just get rid of the nudging feeling to know. If you happen to be in a situation like this, then you can use the methods below to know if someone removed you on Snapchat.
In addition, you’ll learn how to check if you have been blocked by a friend on Snapchat. Let’s dive in.
How to Check if You Have Been Blocked on Snapchat
- On your home screen, i.e., the camera menu, tap on your profile icon.
- In your profile, tap on “My Friends”.
Here, you should see the details of all your friends, and if you notice that the username of the person you’re looking for is missing, then this shows you have been blocked from their friend’s list.
Have I been removed by a friend on Snapchat?
There are two methods by which you can check if you have been removed by a friend on Snapchat.
- From your home screen, tap on your profile icon and tap on “My Friends.”
- Tap on the avatar of the friend you suspect might have deleted you.
- Enter the chat menu and tap the avatar of your friend again.
If you can no longer see the Snapchat score of your friend, then it means you have been deleted. This is because you can only see the scores of those you follow who also follow you back.
- From the home screen, tap on the chat bubble icon which is at the bottom left of your screen.
- Tap on the friend you suspect has unfriended you.
- Compose a short message and send it to the friend.
If you get a status reply that reads, “Your chat will be pending until [Username of your friend] added you as a friend,” or if the arrow which is next to their username looks grey, then it means that you have been deleted.
Alternatively, from the home screen, swipe to the right to access the friend’s screen and then search for the username of the person you are looking for in the Search Bar. If the user account doesn’t pop up, then you have probably been deleted.
In conclusion, it could be the case that the user has deactivated their account and not blocked you (if that helps you feel better). Also, since Snapchat hasn’t made a direct way of seeing those who have deleted you, then these steps can stand in as placeholders.